Book: James Lee Burke “Lay Down My Sword and Shield”

I like reading books in long series rather than chopping and changing between different genres, characters, etc.  So when I come to the end of one it can be tricky to find out who to read next.  I tend to use book recommendation sites where you put in who you have read recently and out pops a few recommendations.  Which is how I came by this author – James Lee Burke and the first novel with this character, Hackberry Holland.

I really wish I had never found this book.  It was truly un-enjoyable.  In summary – there’s a lot of drinking and the main character decides not to run for office but helps poor workers instead.

Really boring book with so little happening that you can easily skip several pages with out missing anything happening.

Comments are closed.