Quality of Life question

Woodlands (the area of Glasgow rather than the concept of where you find trees) is going way downhill in my opinion.  I wouldn’t recommend living here to anyone thinking of moving into the area.  I’m sure there are worse places to live but in the past few years this place is quickly becoming a hell hole.

It is 2.30 on a Saturday night (Sunday morning) as I write this, from around 11 there is a fairly consistent stream of drunks walking around shouting to each other, throwing up or pissing in the street (and in the street is at least not in the doorway of your close where the rain doesn’t wash it away). There is also the boy racers with bass amps pumping out of their cars and loud exhausts driving around in circles and revving away from each give-way.

At around 12 there was two loud bangs in the close, I went down to find someone had kicked in a glass panel of the front door.  No sign of anyone around, but shards of glass everywhere, and no other neighbours sticking their heads out to see what was happening.

But the reason for this 3am rant isn’t any of that.  It is because of a flat which is almost a full block away but which shares the same back court area as my flat.  So the problem is I don’t notice anything till I go into the bedroom and then hear the noise from their music and loud chat.  They seem to like having lots of friends around and opening all the windows, presumably because they have no concept that this might disturb anyone else in the world.

Tonight is the 4th time in three weeks I’ve had to call the police.  Each time I’ve had to first get dressed, go around the corner and make sure I’ve got the right address because I can’t actually see from my place.  If the Police do come (and I don’t doubt that they will, just that this shouldn’t be a priority for them as I’m sure they have more important things to do), but what realistically can they do?  Get the music off – the talk, laughter and screaming is just as loud.  Do they refer back to previous reports and act quicker or with more power?  Do they get them to close their windows?

Of course the other recourse is the council noise team, but they need to measure the noise from within a residence and the noise from my flat one block away isn’t loud enough to cause complaint even though it is too loud to sleep through!  Is no one else kept awake by these selfish idiots?

I could simply ignore it by putting in ear plugs – I tried that tonight but could still hear this party, also as mentioned previously, I now have an idiot downstairs who can’t work a grill, so I’d rather not have earplugs in so that I can hear a smoke alarm.  Anyway, they aren’t the most comfortable thing and why should I?

So what should I do?
How long to I live in this area, which I have liked, which can be nice in daylight and which at one point I actually felt ‘called to’ when the quality of life is getting so poor?
Is it the whole area or just because I’m at the end of a road?
Why doesn’t Glasgow City Council do anything to limit the number of HMOs in an area (which their own rules say they should do)?
Why are people so self centred and inconsiderate?
Is this ‘seasonal’ as the students come back?
What is the biggest risk earplugs in or out?
Why is there no sign of the Police 40minutes after calling?

One Response to Quality of Life question

  1. Chris says:

    Ah yes, I remember the alarm down the road when I was living on Woodlands that went off for THREE DAYS!!! Come to Lansdowne my friend, it’s much quieter here ;)

Leave a comment