movie: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix has been out for a while, but I finally managed to see it and am glad I caught it on the big screen. I’m also glad I saw it at 11am on a Friday in a nice quiet cinema!

I can’t imagine what it would be like seeing this movie if you hadn’t seen the previous four or read the books.  I recently started reading book 7, got confused so went back to re-read book 6 now about half way through that I’ve gone to see this movie (book 5) so I feel totally up to speed with these characters and then to ‘see’ them again with these actors was fantastic.

harry potter-order

tonks

order

The film has all the trademark excitement of the previous Potters, without having as much reliance on special effects as in some of the others, especially Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire with its Triwizard Tournament.  This left much more time for the characters and not just the core – Luna Lovegood was great, we got to know Neville Longbottom better it was all good!  Ok, so compared to the book there isn’t as much as we would like, there isn’t enough of the Order of the Phoenix, there isn’t enough of the school, basically there just isn’t enough.  It is a longish movie – but I could have sat through another two hours of it.

What I didn’t expect when going to see this was that it would bring a tear to my eyes quite so many times (all the way through, not really the end) and I think that is a good recommendation for any film.  It is great to see these characters grow over the years and I can’t think of another film like it.  The climax of the film is outstanding, I’ve watched a lot of fight scenes in a lot of films, but seeing the Order of the Phoenix going full on against the Death Eaters was something else – a fantastic visual interpretation of how this would happen.

Quote: (can’t use my favourite as it is too much of a spoiler, but this was fun)…

Ginny Weasley: Harry, what happens if Umbridge finds out?
Hermione Granger: Who cares? It’s kind of exciting, isn’t it? Breaking the rules.
Ron Weasley: Who are you and what have you done to Hermione Granger?

or

Kingsley Shacklebolt: You may not like him, Minister, but you can’t deny: Dumbledore’s got style.

Leave a comment