Audio wont play from youtube on mac

I mentioned previously that I lost audio from various online videos on my mac.  While this was frustrating I’ve never had the chance to spend much time on it, and re-installing anything didn’t make any difference.  I finally found the solution and so will post it here…

Open /Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup

Audio MIDI Setup

in the bottom right corner change the settings to around 44Khz and Flash video will return straight away.

setting
I would like to explain all the reasons why this has to happen, but I can’t be bothered looking into it I’m fed up enough that this issue is so hard to troubleshoot.  I am now going to pepper the rest of this post with lots of keywords just in case others have the same problem and this solution may be found easier…

my audio wont play audio
no sound from youtube
sound fails on shockwave
swf files don’t play audio
mac stops playing audio
flash video no audio no sound
mac sound problem playing online video
online videos with no sound on mac
pain in the butt!

12 Responses to Audio wont play from youtube on mac

  1. evan says:

    Thanks for the tip. Solved a year-old problem. You’d think Macs would have this setting as the default. Grrr. Thanks again!

  2. Heather says:

    I recently started having the same problem but in Audio MIDI Setup under Audio Output it says “Audio Output not supported”. What does that mean and how can I fix it? I would really appreciate your help.

  3. Silja says:

    I have this same problem too – it seems my mac has just gone ´mute´…
    However, it *does* play its “goodbye” tune to me when I turn it off. I find this very conflicting – and I have tried what you suggest above… and guess what – it doesn´t work…
    Have I for some reason muted itunes and all other applications by raw chance, or am I just plain stupid for not knowing how to sort this out? Please help!

  4. Annette says:

    I had the same message for the Audio Output – OUTPUT IS NOT SUPPORTED. Look for the PROPERTIES FOR pull-down menu on the Audio MIDI Setup window and choose Built-in Output. This will show you the Audio Output options, so you can reset it.

    I’ve been having this problem on and off for the past 2 years and always forget how to fix it. Thanks for your blog, it came right up.

  5. Gina says:

    Thanks a ton! This weird problem is solved now due to this change! Also thanks for including those possible search terms, yours was the first post on our google search.

  6. ROMESH says:

    WHEN I PLAY ANY MOVIE ON YOUTUBE, ON MY IMAC, THE VIDEO IS TNTERUPTED EVERY OTHER SECOND TILL THE END OF THE MOVIE. HOW CAN I FIX THIS PROBLEM.

  7. AJ says:

    Thank you so much for this!

  8. jen says:

    thanks, tried it , but didnt work! i have no sound for youtube videos only on my mac!

  9. Joe Black says:

    Dog you just saved me pulling the trigger on this hackintosh! One day sound on Safari was working fine, and the next nite it was kaput. This fixed it immediately.

    Thanks man

    Joe

  10. Vitor says:

    jen Says:
    January 17, 2009 at 10:21 pm | Reply
    thanks, tried it , but didnt work! i have no sound for youtube videos only on my mac!

    Same here, anyone can help? In mine it’s already in 44khz

  11. Molly Oldham says:

    I HAVE A MAC BOOK PRO, VINTAGE SUMMER OF ’08. I HAVE SAME PROBLEM AND NONE OF THE SUGGESTIONS ABOVE SOLVED MY PROBLEM. THE LITTLE SPEAKER ICON, BOTTOM LEFT, ONLY TOGGLED BETWEEN ON AND MUTE THOUGH “ON” HAD NO SOUND.
    THEN–AND THIS WILL PROBABLY SOUND STUPID–BUT I’M NOT CYBER GIFTED-
    -AT THE BOTTOM (LEFT FOR ME) OF THE UTUBE SCREEN, JUST IN FRONT OF THE PROGRESS MARKER ON THE PROGRESS BAR, IS A LITTLE YELLOW DOT (YOURS MAY BE A DIFFERENT COLOR). THAT DOESN’T MOVE.

    ONCE YOU START THE VIDIO, AS THE PROGRESS MARKER STARTS MOVING TO THE RIGHT, IT PASSES THE YELLOW DOT. THAT YELLOW DOT IS MY UTUBE VOLUME. MOVE IT TO THE RIGHT AND THE VOLUME INCREASES.

    NOTE (1): THIS VOLUME CONTROL IS SEPARATE FROM THE MAC VOLUME CONTROL AT TOP RIGHT OF DESK TOP SCREEN. .

    NOTE (2): MY PROBLEM HAS ONLY BEEN WITH UTUBE. WHEN I STREAM NETFLIX, MY VOLUE IS LOWER THAN I WOULD LIKE BUT STILL PERFECTABLY AUDIBLE.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

